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Contextual advertising

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How are ads ranked?

When a visitor loads any page from any member site on C|ON|TEXT network, the page sends a request for C|ON|TEXT to show the best possible ads compared to the page content. C|ON|TEXT downloads the page, analyzes it and tries to understand what the topic of the page is. It then searches through all available ads on the system looking for best matches.

A list of candidate ads is compiled. Then the system tries to rank the candidate ads by combination of several factors. In addition to ad relevance, two most important factors are cost per click and campaign quality. You can select what the maximum acceptable cost per click for your ad is. The system determines campaign quality automatically based on several factors, including campaign CTR and quality of your landing page. Higher campaign quality means you can pay lower cost per click.

Let's assume that ads X and Y are both relevant for a page that requests ads. Campaign X has a campaign quality of 37 and cost per click of 3.02 €. Campaign Y has a campaign quality of 56 and cost per click of 2.18 €. The system ranks them like this:

X: 3.02 x 37 = 111.74 (ranks 2nd)
Y: 2.18 x 56 = 122.08 (ranks 1st)

Even with significantly higher cost per click, campaign X still ranks 2nd and misses out of best advertising spots. There are two ways for campaign X to get to 1st position. It can increase its campaign quality to 41 or it can increase cost per click to 3.30 €.

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